Friday, January 20, 2012

More About Me...

I thought this looked like fun:

10 years ago….I was 16 and a junior in high school.  That was my best year of high school.

5 years ago…. I had been married for just 23 days!  We were temporarily living with my in-laws and about to start our final semesters of undergrad.

1 year ago….We were living in a coastal town in the tropical South Atlantic region.  My husband was interning as a student pastor and I was working part-time at the church’s preschool as an assistant teacher.

Yesterday…I worked at school all day, came home, and did some baking while hubby was doing a home visit.

Today…is Friday and I have a snow day due to six inches of snow overnight and negative wind chills!  I’ve spent it cleaning and shoveling.

5 snacks I enjoy:
Cheesy white corn chips and salsa
Archer Farms’ Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Bites (my latest favorite!)
Tortilla with melted cheese and sour cream
Homemade peanut butter snack bars

5 things I’d do with $100,000,000:
-Adopt between two and six children, internationally, over the space of several years
-Take a nice vacation with my husband to a warm place in January or February
-Give 15% to the work of our church body
-Buy some things we’d like to have for our home: a snowblower, a fireplace, a dishwasher, finish the upstairs bedroom to make it usable
-Put the rest in our retirement plan(s)

5 places I’d like to visit for awhile:
-Anywhere to adopt!
-St. Croix (in the Virgin Islands)
-Vero Beach, FL
-Boise, ID
-Somewhere I haven’t been…maybe Colorado or Montana.

5 bad habits I have:
–Being too hard on myself
-Thinking that our situation is the worst while it actually never is
-Expecting too much, too soon
-Longing for what I don’t have rather than being thankful for my blessings
-Getting mad at God for not giving us any children – this is the worst one.

5 things I like doing:
-Going somewhere a couple hours away to window-shop and walk at a good mall
-Playing board games with my husband
-Playing piano
-Reading a good book

5 biggest joys at the moment:
My Lord and my God
My husband
Living in the Midwest
Being able to save for an adoption
My home